Let It Go (again)


About 2 years ago, I shared my thoughts on letting go. I touched on forgiveness, letting go of grudges and any negativity etc. The thing about life is that we constantly have to revisit so many things we’ve told ourselves to do. So today, I’m back again, urging myself and anybody else in a similar situation to let go!

 

For real though, let it go!
 
Sometimes we make decisions on a whim, some with great repercussions and others with none. Years go by and life carries on, until one day when it all comes back to bite you. I was going through that stage a few weeks ago. When we’re young, we’re carefree, we are full of life and enthusiasm about everything! We have very little responsibilities therefore we make rash decisions quite often. Some turn out to be terrible mistakes, others turn out to be the best decisions we’ve ever made. Unfortunately, for the former, future prospects are often tarnished when the ghosts of the bad decisions come knocking on your door. I lay awake one night wondering how to make amends and turn the situation around, but I found none. I turned and tossed and had very little sleep as a result, and yet there still was no solution. It pained me deeply. Had I known then what I know now, I may have done things differently. But it’s all water under the bridge now, so what’s next? Letting go. Letting go is harder than it sounds. Personally, sometimes I’m too hard on myself because I think I should have known better. However, what I’m essentially doing is limiting myself from my potential – I can actually confront the situation, accept how wrong I was and decide to never go down that road again, instead of wallowing in my sorrows and cowering in the corner. Fears, regrets and mistakes need to be addressed for one to move past it. 

So I picked up my Bible, something I should have done long back, and found an encouraging verse about forgiveness. Psalm 103 verse 12 says, “As far as the east is from the west, so far does he remove our transgressions from us.” And 1 John 1 verse 9 also says, “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”  

The first thing to do is to admit my mistakes, admit I was wrong and confess it unto the Lord. And my Bible says that He shall remove my transgressions farrrrrr from us. In this, I’ve found new hope. No matter how small the mistake may be, it could actually have a greater impact than imaginable. Therefore I pray for a renewed mindset, that I may see things differently and ponder over my decisions carefully before falling into traps. This is only the beginning of a long journey…

Comment

