New Year’s Resolutions


As we come to the end of 2016, it’s wise to take the time to reflect on the year, seeing what went well (and taking note of the reasons behind the success), what didn’t go so well (and taking note of what went wrong, what can be learnt from it and how that can be avoided in 2017). I’m certain that I speak for a lot of people when I say that 2016 has been such a challenge! I personally lost quite a lot this year, and sometimes I can’t help but sit down and weep over it all. However, a lot of good things also went well this year, and as much as the bad stuff hurt, the good stuff do bring a smile to my face as they made a huge impact on my life.
New Years is around the time when many people start setting goals for the year, or resolutions as some like to call them. I’ve been part of this tradition for many years until I realised that I was playing myself here by setting “resolutions”. Looking at the lists each year, I realised that I only ever crossed out one resolution, or two at most, and upon reevaluation of the year, I’d feel so unaccomplished. But actually, I accomplished many other things that simply weren’t on my list, some of which were arguably more significant and greater than the resolutions I had set myself. I now feel like “resolutions” put me in a box those days because I didn’t create an elaborate plan on how to achieve them.

Here are some things to consider:

“Resolutions are absolute, you leave no room for another person’s input or any other outcome outside of what you have resolved to do. Plans can involve others, you can have a plan A and a plan B to Z if you want, but plans always change along the way. Hope is when you are expectant, usually things are not in your hands, its more of a feeling. [In short], resolutions narrow your field of vision, and you will miss other things on the way” – Malvern Muteta 24/12/2012


Instead, for 2017 I aim to set “goals”, outlining elaborate objectives that will drive me towards each particular goal. Which brings me to the following tips for you:

  1. Don’t set yourself unrealistic goals, as these will cripple you into thinking you’re incapable.
  2. If need be, aim to limit your interaction with (or separate yourself completely from) people who are always being negative about any goal you try to set yourself. It’s time to take over your life and realise that, although you may have much love for some people, if they’re crippling you, you won’t move forward!
  3. Try to aim higher than you did last yet, although ensure those goals are attainable.
  4. Take time to pray or meditate over your goals to see if they really are for you or you’re trying to look like a good planner
  5. Don’t set yourself goals to impress others, but rather to better yourself, develop who you are and reach greater heights in your life. The moment you realise that the satisfaction level attached to reaching that goal involves “the look on their faces”, is the moment you need to sit back down and reevaluate what’s motivating you to do it. Do you really want it for yourself?
  6. Don’t be afraid to fail. As you set targets, it’s never set in stone that everything shall happen according to your plan. Make room for some unexpected changes in your life (e.g. you meet the love of your life, you get a promotion at work, you get kids, work asks you to relocate to a whole different country on a whole different continent, etc)
  7. Check out this FREE goal planner I came across last week, it’s only available for a limited time though so hurry and get yourself a PDF copy then print https://uploadfiles.io/562c0
  8. Get rid of “resolutions” and start making elaborate plans, i.e. SMART goals. Make sure they are:

Specific

Measurable

Achievable

Realistic

Timed

It’s time to stop limiting yourself or living in fear. Nobody ever died from making plans and chasing after their dreams! (Unless their dreams were jumping into active volcanos or wrestling white sharks then boy, they probably died 😂)

“Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people will not feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. It is not just in some of us; it is in everyone, and as we let our light shine, we unconsciously give others permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” – Marianne Williamson

May your 2017 be prosperous. May all you hear be great news and may you strive towards your goals, putting in the effort and reaping where you sow. 2017 CAN BE your year; you simply must follow your objectives through in order to achieve your goals.

Happy New Year 🎉
Xoxo

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Glad you liked it! Hope it helps you as it’s been helping me 🙏🏾

  2. Top Lad says:

    I love this!! Put a few things into perspective. Thanks 🙌🏾

Comment

