Reaping What You Sow Series 1 – Introductions


NOTE: This is an ongoing series that I aim to publish on a monthly basis, as I go through each month learning new lessons and reflecting on how I’ve done so far this year. Please, feel free to leave your thoughts and input in the comments section below 🙏🏾

The concept of “reaping what you sow” has been around since the beginning of time, with messages from the Bible telling us, teaching us and warning us that everyone shall reap what they sow. 

“Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.” Luke‬ ‭6:38‬ ‭

The idea of output VS input isn’t new at all, and for one to have a successful year, one needs to understand that in order to reap great results, one must put in a lot of effort. This could be in terms of fitness, studies, business or any other endeavours.  

“You must begin to understand, therefore, that the present state of your bank account, your sales, your health, your social life, your position at work, etc., is nothing more than the physical manifestation of your previous thinking. If you sincerely wish to change or improve your results in the physical world, you must change your thoughts, and you must change them immediately.” –Bob Proctor 

I have seen this quote circulating several times: on a page marker, on the internet and so forth. I remember when I first read it on a page marker pictured below, and how fascinated I was, instantly, because in that moment I’d been distraught and down, not paying attention during the lecture and sort of in a “giving up” mood. Things weren’t going well for me and the pressures that come with being a final year student needing to make decisions about her future were scaring me and making me anxious. It got to the point where my mental health was affected as I fell into a state of stress and anxiety which also affected my physical well being as I wasn’t eating properly, not sleeping much, I was breaking out and I constantly fought off headaches. 

That’s when it dawned on me that what I was feeding into my life, I was harvesting. I was in a rut because of the way I was seeing things in that moment. I couldn’t understand my lecturers when they delivered their lessons, but instead of going to see them afterwards, utilising their office hours or taking the time to do my own extra reading, I resorted to moaning about it instead. For weeks I sat in lecture halls, sometimes taking down notes, sometimes not, and it made me feel like I wasn’t learning anything. Indeed I wasn’t. But the day I decided to put in more effort, the results poured in abundantly! To do my coursework, I pulled all nighters several times, trying to get the work done. I missed some social events (my fault for leaving things too late because of my state of mind), but it all worked out well in the end. 

It is important, however, to not beat myself up about the time wasted, because that could potentially lead me back into the same old habits where I didn’t appreciate myself enough, didn’t believe in myself enough and felt like I was letting myself and several people down. That put unnecessary pressure on me, which led to these negative feelings of putting myself down, feelings which manifested even in the way I was moody and snappy with some people, etc. Besides, lost time can never be retrieved, and it is foolish for anyone to wallow about it. 
So whatever you’re aiming to achieve this year, don’t just sit there expecting results to flow in: put in the work and you’ll see the results. Change your way of thinking and you’ll fix what you couldn’t fix last year. Refer to my previous post about resolutions and setting goals, in which I discuss the importance of setting out a plan to achieve your goals, which is like a foundation for whatever you aim to build in your life. So get up, even if you don’t feel like it, even if it’s freezing outside and you’d rather lay in bed than go for that jog, even if you’re tired and have only had 4 hours of sleep. Put in the work and the rest will sort itself out. From a Christian point of view, put in the work and don’t forget to pray about it too, and God will take care of the rest. 

“but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” Isaiah‬ ‭40:31‬ ‭

Have a lovely weekend 🙏🏾

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    I love this! Nobody will hand us success, we have to grab it!

    1. Definitely!

Comment

