Reaping What You Sow Series 4 – Something’s got to give


Hello dear reader!

If you’re new to my blog, you probably won’t know that what I share stems from “Notes to Self”. I’m yet to get it right, as a matter of fact, I’m growing as we speak, encouraged by my readers’ comments, discussions and suggestions. So this is for all of us, I’m not here to coach you on how to get the best out of yourself without applying it myself. Let’s learn together!

Anyway, in the previous posts, we established that there’s generally a positive correlation between input and output, meaning if you’re seeing great results, there must be something you’re doing right. If they’re bad results, it’s most likely due to your strategy and what you input, right? Surely it goes without saying that constantly applying the same formula won’t get you different results. If it’s an adverse situation you wish to transform, you must change the way you behave, think and strategise; something’s got to give. 

A new but very good friend of mine once provoked my thoughts by asking me what I’m doing to attain the first class grade I so proclaim I want to achieve at the end of my university experience. He asked me, and I paraphrase, “Without knowing what you desire as you’ve already told me, would I assume that you want a first class, based on observing your current actions?” It was like a slap in the face for me, and a lightbulb switched on in my mind. At first I tried to get defensive, but I realised that it was a great question. My current actions were not correlating with my expectations. 

Sometimes you have to sacrifice pleasures temporarily in order to attain future bliss. There’s this term my dear sister loves dropping at me: “delayed gratification“. Good old Wikipedia (YASSSS I can reference Wikipedia now since it’s not an academic essay. Absolute Bliss!) defines ‘Delayed Gratification’ as:

… the ability to resist the temptation for an immediate reward and wait for a later reward. Generally, delayed gratification is associated with resisting a smaller but more immediate reward in order to receive a larger or more enduring reward later.

In essence, you “suffer” now for a short while, and then harvest a greater harvest, instead of indulging now then ending up with close to nothing in your barn. To reiterate, something’s got to give. 

It is very important to be honest with yourself, because the more you keep selling yourself dreams, the harder it can be for you to break bad habits and get great results from your efforts. We all deserve some down time to not think about anything once in a while, because this life is hard and the pressures are constantly evolving. However, we need to stop making excuses and do what we’re supposed to be doing. In the words of one of my favourite Zimbabwean Hip Hop artists, Tehn Diamond, “Not every sun rise is guaranteed and not every sun set come free“.

My word to myself and to you too, dear reader, is that you need to renew your mind and change up the formula so you won’t wake up one day wishing you’d worked harder than you eventually did. You owe yourself this much. 
Have a pleasant weekend and if you’re about to write exams, I pray you do your best 🙏🏾

Comment

