Reaping What You Sow Series 5 – How Bad Do You Want It?


What have you done today to work towards your goals/purpose/ambitions? What have you invested your time, money and effort in, that shall reap a reward that’s related to something you claim you desperately want (to have or to achieve)? – that was Mnelta, asking me these seemingly “silly” questions. Lol

Whenever I scroll down my various social media news feeds, I almost always come across a post where people comment “goals”, followed by a series of love struck emojis, praising hands, a key sign (derived from DJ Khaled’s saying “major key”) πŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ™ŒπŸΎπŸ™ŒπŸΎπŸ”‘πŸ”‘
Right, before we proceed, allow me to break something down. It’s ok to dream. In fact, it’s wonderful, it gives us something to wake up for, it gives us hope for a better tomorrow, etc. Dream big. It’s also good to make a plan, outline what the goal is and what the objectives are to achieve that goal. However, don’t just stop there! Don’t just think about it, DO IT too! If you don’t, you’ll still be commenting “goals” on people’s posts about their new whip on Instagram decades later when you’re old and wrinkly, sitting at the front section of the top part of a double decker bus because you didn’t do much about your dreams to own a car of your own! Don’t be that guy 😏

Photo credit: Reddit

With each waking moment, I’m constantly learning and re-learning different principles to live by. Every second counts. There was a time when I used to measure my success by the amount of time I spent “busy”. But after analysing this “busy time” to see the level of productivity or output or results I attained, I realised that more than 50% of the time was wasted idly looking busy to avoid tackling real life situations. I fully tried my best to find absolutely ANYTHING else to preoccupy myself instead of doing that task that was top priority. This is why I never used to understand when people told me I’m always busy. Because I thought to myself, at the end of the day, what do I have to show for it…?

So what did you do today that your future self is going to thank you for?



Everyone is fighting one battle or the other. For some people, such as those facing grief, heartbreak or mental illnesses of any degree, getting out of bed is an accomplishment. For the anorexic, finishing a full English breakfast is an accomplishment. Whatever you’re going through, whatever level you’re at, make sure you’re making strides! They don’t have to be incredible, Big Foot type of steps that stretch across metres and metres, no. It could be a teeny-tiny baby’s steps measuring like 3 inches or something. That doesn’t matter. What matters is that you’ve taken a step forward. 
Today, well, I finished exam number 3 out of 4 of my final ever year at university. I also did some food shopping so I’m not tempted to eat junk and ruin my weight loss progress. How is this going to help me? Well, I’m trying to move forward, not backwards. Eating clean is going to help me to continue developing my body into a healthy place. My physical and mental wellbeing are crucial for me to accomplish my goals. So one of the objectives of mine is to stay healthy and fit, as much as possible. 
BUT, as I always say, stop selling yourself dreams. If you know you’re capable of more, then do more! I was at the gym with one of my friends and she said that I’m a “beast” in the gym. I disagreed because on that particular day I was doing the bare minimum. The thing is, for me to achieve the fitness level that I want, tone my body the way I want to, I can’t just do ten sit ups and start huffing and puffing like I’m having a panic attack, and just give up. So I do more, take a break if need be, then do more. At first (I’m talking about months ago here) it was hard and very painful, but now I do 100 crunches with relative ease. I’m thankful for my endurance since I first started, as the constant practice became habit, so it’s now easier. What I did then, I’m thankful for now. 

MOMENT OF TRUTH:

In retrospect though, if someone asked me if I genuinely put enough effort in preparing for my exams, my answer will be no. This post is me rebuking my actions. I was under pressure today before the exam, panicking, because what I did the last few days and weeks, I’m not entirely thankful for because I know for a fact that I could have done more. Nonetheless, I’m glad that’s out of the way. 

So before the week ends, stop and think about what you want to achieve. Write it down and work towards that each day. You don’t have to have a lot of money, you don’t have to be a certain way, just do it and I promise you, your future self will be so grateful!
Have a blessed week πŸ™πŸΎ

Comment

